E.DSO Technology Radar: Second Edition

In October 2023 we released the E.DSO Technology Radar to support DSOs in seizing the opportunities offered by emerging technologies and preparing for the challenges arising from the rapid transformation of the energy and IT sectors. This second edition of the Technology Radar includes:

  • Three new factsheets investigating SF6-free EquipmentBuilding-to-Grid technologies and Low Voltage Self-Healing.
  • An update of the Artificial Intelligence, Generative AI, Drones, and Edge Computing factsheets, now presenting the most promising use cases for the DSO industry and remarkable projects that are testing and validating the application of these technologies.

The Technology Radar’s ambition is to evaluate technological topics that have a potential impact on DSOs and their ecosystem (public authorities, suppliers, customers, and employees).

The objectives are:

  • Early identification of new technologies, technological trends and potential disruptions.
  • Increased awareness of the opportunities and threats associated with emerging technological developments.
  • Stimulation of innovation by combining technology reports with business potential assessment.

A dedicated Task Force organised within the E.DSO Technology & Knowledge Sharing Committee, counting on high-level experts from a large set of European DSOs, was set up to produce the Technology Radar.

The members of the Task Force are:

  • Co-convenors: Pierre Mallet and Anne-Laure Popelin (Enedis).
  • Members: Alessandro Cirocco (Unareti), Andrea Ruffini (Unareti), Angeliki Gialketsi (HEDNO), Aris Dandens (Sadales Tīkls), Enrique Garcia (i-DE), Ewa Mataczynska (PGE Dystrybucja), Gerald Käferle (Netz NÖ), Jan Kůla (ČEZ Distribuce), Johannes Stürmer (Westnetz), Mariano Gaudó (UFD), Mark den Brok (Stedin), Nuran Martin (Stedin), Raquel Gómez Martín (E-REDES), Rene Kuczkowski (Enea Operator), Ricardo Almeida Henriques (E-REDES), Sergii Tankevych (DTEK), Thomas Börmans (E.ON).
  • Previous contributors: Maurits Doorn (Stedin), Nicolas Roche (Enedis), Slawomir Noske (Energa), Tania Vázquez Sanchez (E-REDES).

Download the document to discover the Technology Radar.

More publications